Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

About Us


Print Version

 Content Editor


Board of Health

​The Board of Health for the Northwestern Health Unit is made up of 8 members from local municipal councils and up to 3 members appointed by the Province.

Municipal members are appointed for the duration of their term in public office, which is usually a 4-year term. Provincial members are appointed for a term, the length of which is decided by the Minister of Health. The positions of Chair and Vice-Chair rotate annually.

Board of He​alth 2020

Chair - Doug Lawrance
Municipal appointee for Sioux Lookout, Ignace, and Pickle Lake
Vice Chair - Sharon Smith
Municipal appointee for Kenora
Executive Member - Jerry O’Leary
Municipal appointee for Kenora and Sioux Narrows - Nestor Falls
Executive Member - Shayne MacKinnon
Municipal appointee for Dryden and Machin
Executive Member (alPHa rep) - Trudy Sachowski
Municipal appointee for Ear Falls, Red Lake
Wendy Brunetta
Municipal appointee for Fort Frances
Sally Burns
Municipal appointee for Atikokan
Jim Belluz
Municipal appointee for Alberton, Dawson, Chapple, Morley, 
La Vallee, Rainy River, Emo, and Lake of the Woods
Nicole Brown
Provincial Appointee as of January 17, 2020​